Fable Hotels Celebrates Auckland United's Triumph in Women's National League

Publish Date: 29 November, 2023

We are thrilled to share the exciting news that Auckland United has emerged victorious in the 2023 Women's National League, securing their second major trophy of the year after their triumph in the Northern Premiership in August. We couldn't be happier to witness their success.


In a thrilling final at Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland United defeated Southern United 2-0, showcasing their prowess and determination on the field. The victory marks a historic moment as Auckland United becomes the second National League champions, underlining the success of the new club-regional format introduced last year.


The match was a true testament to the spirit of competition, with Southern United displaying remarkable skill and determination, especially in the first half. However, Auckland United shifted the momentum in their favour with a perfectly timed press by Rene Wasi in the 24th minute, leading to an exquisite goal by the talented 18-year-old Alexis Cook.

The lead allowed Auckland United to assert their dominance in the game, with Maisy Dewell securing the second goal – her first of the season. Despite Southern United's valiant efforts to even the score, Auckland's experienced backline and strategic play maintained their lead, resulting in a well-deserved victory.


Fable Hotels and Resorts proudly displayed our logo on the back of the winning team's shirts, and we extend our heartfelt congratulations to Auckland United for their outstanding performance and sportsmanship throughout the season. It's moments like these that exemplify the values of teamwork, perseverance, and excellence that we hold dear at Fable Hotels.


As sponsors of this team, we are honoured to be associated with their success and look forward to continuing our support for women's football. Auckland United's triumph in the Women's National League is not just a win for the team but a celebration of the passion and dedication that define the world of football.


Congratulations once again to Auckland United on this achievement!